Tags

, , , ,

As I was sitting still (well no, to be honest, threading some ties for my GW bags!) this morning before work, my ears pricked up as I listened to Rev Ruth Scott’s ‘Pause for Thought’ on the BBC Radio 2 Chris Evans Breakfast Show.

You can tune in here http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b0383wzz and slide across to 2:54.17 or scroll down to her script which has been transcribed at the bottom of the same page.

One quote I wrote down shortly after she uttered the words are “We need to do less to achieve more” . In fact, here’s the bit when I started tuning in,

I’ve also learnt the critical importance of making space for something new to emerge. In the silence of Quaker meetings, or in other situations of stillness, ideas have come to me that have made a huge difference to my life. In those moments I feel that what’s unfolding is driven by something more than what I can or can’t do. Some people call this dynamic energy, God. Past experience has taught me that whatever it is, I need to trust it. It may be counter-intuitive, but creating space can often be a more effective catalyst for change than charging around. An American priest friend recently described this as drawing ‘finite action out of infinite spaciousness’. I like the sound of that. Sometimes, Chris, we need to do less in order to achieve more!

