Tags

, , , ,

COFFEE

Did you know that the coffee bean is not a ‘bean’ at all but rather a seed in the middle of a fruit a bit like a cherry?!?!  It only gets its name because it looks like a bean.

As the plant gets bigger, it has fewer branches but more leaves and MUCH more fruit.

This reminds me of lessons I’m learning from John 15.  Jesus says, “I am the vine and you are the branches.  If you in remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit.”  Before this this, he says,

“I am the vine and my Father is the vine dresser.  He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.”

Being pruned and having branches cut off is an uncomfortable process.  But in so doing the plant/ person grows and develops, that more fruit can be produced.  The key is to remain abiding in God.  & From that place we can pray and receive fullness of joy.

For the full passage, see here.

