Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Here is the script from Diane Louise Jordan’s excellent BBC Radio 2 ‘Pause for Thought’ on Tuesday morning this week:

I was listening to a radio programme the other day where someone was expressing how much they like being rushed and busy because it makes them feel as if they really matter.

On the same programme a mother described how from the minute the alarm goes off to the moment her head hits the pillow, she’s constantly on the go: and that her 10 year old son gets up 1/2 an hour earlier than his sisters in order to eat his breakfast in peace before the daily rush of getting ready for school and mum rushing out to work.

This caught my attention – particularly the actions of her son – as when I was 10 I never felt rushed (even on school days) and my long, languishing summer holidays felt like they’d happily never end….

But as a reported 3/4 of parents claim to have no time to themselves, maybe it’s effecting children too…

So has Time dramatically changed, or are we living more demanding, jam-packed, but perhaps more exciting days?

Well according to a growing campaign for slower living it would seem that however exciting our days are, rushing and busyness isn’t necessarily good for us. It’s argued that our increasing obsession with speed means we race through life instead of actually living it, but that we’d be better off if we created moments of slowness to connect with our “inner-tortoise.”

Well I don’t know about you, but whenever I’m over-ventilating with things to do, and I actually remember to take a break, I never fail to achieve more, using less time! So maybe there is something in that old adage about less haste creating more speed.

It may well feel counter-intuitive, but perhaps if we slowed down we might combat the virus of hurry and instead live happier, healthier and certainly more productive lives – which I think is exactly what we’re trying to achieve with all our rushing busyness!….

