Tags

, , ,

When my parents came round this afternoon, I asked my Dad to point out which were the weeds in my garden, so I didn’t pull up the wrong ones (unlike my pulling out a cucumber plant a month or so ago).  We agreed that the overgrown one at the front of the flower bed was a weed – it certainly wasn’t one my Dad had planted earlier on this year or last – and up it came.  

But, nestled beneath were some little gems I enjoyed for my dinner tonight. Those couple of sprouting potatoes I’d planted a few months ago and all but forgotten about, had multiplied.  The plant’s now gone but these should last a couple more meals:

new potatoes

Some times in life you plant things and then forget about them completely.  But surely, sooner or later, one day you may be surprised about what comes up as a result!

 

