Tags

, ,

I went for a walk earlier today in the blustery autumn sunshine, with crisp colourful leaves falling and my energy levels dropping.

I didn’t have my camera with me and my old phone’s memory is such that taking photos on it is easier said than done. So I will have to keep a photographic memory of little William, my friend’s son, who plodded his way up Robinswood Hill. His brother and sister raced up, stopped for a breather; adult company walked briskly for a bit and waited a while; but little William aged 2 and a half just kept on walking. Plod plod plod. Slow and steady, he didn’t dither or lose interest, he just put one foot in front of the other.

We didn’t make it all the way to the top but got pretty far, to a lovely viewpoint. (I’ll try and dig out an old instagram shot later.) When I was younger, I would only go a few steps before losing interest all together. Even today I didn’t really feel like going at all. Not so with William. 

When we turned to go back down, he went pretty fast and was sometimes leading the way! I’ve said before that slow and steady is the way to go. The tortoise wins the race, not the hare. And today, another timely lesson came in the form of little William. It doesn’t matter if you’re going slow, but step by step, keep going. We’ll get there.

