Tags

, , ,

Between Easter and Pentecost, I plan to do something a little different.  Here’s a hint:

EVELYN IN THE GARDEN

If you can’t spot it, I plan to eat a Vegan diet for the next fifty days.  You may ask or wonder why.  & In a sense, I’m not entirely sure myself.  But that I have read a few articles, such as this one, over the past few months about athletes who have adopted a vegan diet, and note quicker recovery times and feeling less sluggish and thus that they have more energy.

So I’m going to give it a go.  I did my usual supermarket shop earlier today and for the first time ever, I intentionally didn’t put any meat; fish; milk; eggs or any other animal products in my trolley.  Instead, in went almond milk, almonds (with which I promptly made a batch of almond butter); extra veg (which I may use to make a bacon substitute – see here!), as well as the usual porridge oats, bread, fruit and veg, and some healthy ish snacks.

Over the next few weeks, I may well post a little bit about how I get on and what I end up eating as well as reflections on it.
For the menu this week, I plan to rustle up a batch of Leon Gobi (aka cauliflower curry) which should last me a few nights, and Portobello mushroom burgers, adopted from my first foray into the UK based ‘Boston Tea Party‘ eatery (sadly no longer on the menu).

In the meantime, may you reflect on a Happy Easter!

 

