Tags

, , ,

I have been reading a book about creativity. The other week was about creative u turns and picking up abandoned projects. About this time last year I tried embarking on a new sewing project whilst ‘trying to relax’. It didn’t really work, I got stressed, tried to follow some instructions in a book step by step but didn’t see the bigger picture. My Mum pointed out that I had cut out two pattern pieces the same way round, where they needed to match up right sides together so one needed to be in mirror image. (I think the book didn’t explain this but presumed prior knowledge of sewing basics!!)

I was so annoyed as I had used up all my main material and the main body on one half was useless. I thought I could do a patchwork of different fabric or make two of the same to use up what had already been cut. Fast forward a year, new motivation. Encouragement from my Mum just to make one (not two). And ta daa finally finished.

The cream fabric is from a tea towel we were given and is significant to the recipient’s family (it will be a birthday present to my husband’s nephew). The remaining fabric was from my fabric drawer. One of the pieces of felt for the eye is gifted from my husband’s nine year old niece and the button nose is from my Mum.

Relieved to have finished, proud of my creation. I wonder what they will think of it, hope the three year old won’t pull it to pieces in minutes!

#stuffedtoy